470115-2

I wanted to write about High Blood Pressure since I have been diagnosed with it in the past and talk about how recently, my blood pressure seems to have went BACK TO NORMAL  through diet and exercise.

Blausen_0486_HighBloodPressure_01High blood pressure (HBP) is a SERIOUS medical condition that if left uncorrected can lead to coronary heart disease, heart failure, stroke, kidney failure, and other health problems. Your “Blood pressure” is the force of blood pushing against the walls of the arteries as the heart pumps blood.  1 in 3 Americans have HBP.  If your blood pressure rises and stays high over time, it can damage your heart, blood vessels, kidneys, and other parts of your body.

I was diagnosed with high blood pressure in 2007. I thought that I lived a healthy life style.  I rode my bike probably 75 to 100 miles per week, ran 10 to 15 per week, and swam. I justified my nutrition because I was an athlete, I could eat what I wanted with no consequence.  Leading up to the diagnosis, I had spent a year in Iraq, went through a divorce, and began a 6 year stint as a recruiter during a time of war in a market where joining the Army was not a viable option. I attribute my high blood pressure to an insane workload and poor work life balance, compounded with an insanely stressful job.

There are typically no signs or symptoms of high blood pressure, even if blood pressure readings reach dangerously high levels.  Some people do have symptoms, however, people don’t normally experience them until the high blood pressure is life threatening. These symptoms include: dull headaches, dizzy spells or a few more nosebleeds than normal.

How to read your blood pressure:

Systolic

The top number, which is also the higher of the two numbers, measures the pressure in the arteries when the heart beats (when the heart muscle contracts)

large

Diastolic

The bottom number, which is also the lower of the two numbers, measures the pressure in the arteries between heartbeats (when the heart muscle is resting between beats and refilling with blood) Blood pressure reading isn’t constant, it does lower as you sleep and rises as you are awake. Your blood pressure can rise when you are excited, nervous, or active.

How I overcame High Blood Pressure

11350588_10205734028683559_2256367323743997859_nWhen I committed to healthy eating through the 21 Day Fix Fitness Program and incorporating Shakeology into my daily diet is when my blood pressure went back to normal levels for the first time since my diagnosis. I have tried numerous time to stay off the Lisinopril without luck until now! I learned that you can not out work high blood pressure.  80% of your fitness is related to nutrition which includes blood pressure. I am elated with the the fact that I no longer require medication. One of the most annoying side effects of the medication I experienced was the nagging cough. I am not a fan of medine because of all the side effects associated with fixing one ailment you get a laundry list of others to contend with.  Here is the list of side effects associated with my medicine:

-cloudy urine
-confusion
-decrease in urine output or decrease in urine-concentrating ability
-dizziness, faintness, or lightheadedness when getting up suddenly from a lying or sitting position
-sweating
-unusual tiredness or weakness
-Abdominal or stomach pain
-body aches or pain
-chest pain
-chills
-common cold
-cough
-diarrhea
-difficulty breathing
-ear congestion
-fever
-headache
-loss of voice
-nasal congestion
-nausea
-runny nose
-sneezing
-sore throat
-vomiting
-Arm, back, or jaw pain
-chest discomfort, tightness, or heaviness
-fast or irregular heartbeat
-general feeling of discomfort or illness
-joint pain
-loss of appetite
-muscle aches and pains
-shivering

I am so happy to be off the medicine. Hard work and good nutrition is the key to success. You have to change your lifestyle. You have to make healthy choices and incorporate healthy habits if you want meaningful change.  I want to live as long as possible and be there for my daughters when they get married, have grand children. I want to be active and fit so that I can enjoy my golden years.  You can’t wait until then to make the change. IT HAS TO HAPPEN NOW!

10704_10205734028443553_6224615185368253425_n

I want to give a shout out to my friend Thomas Henning who going through the 21 Day Fix and making those changes in his nutrition has overcome his high blood pressure.  His doctor is pleased with his results and nutrition and removed his prescription.

There are no gimmicks to the Challenge Teams. Good nutrition and exercise is the key to success. You have to commit to the program and we provide the accountability to help you achieve your goals.

You can order Shakeology with a risk free, empty bag guarantee here:

http://www.shakeology.com/jaytiegs

coach photo

Jay Tiegs is husband, father of triplet 7 years olds, a Captain in the U.S. Army, and Endurance Athlete, and an Independent Fitness Coach with Team Beachbody.

For more information regarding Fitness Programs, Coaching, or beginning your fitness journey to a healthier, more fulfilling life, please contact Jay at: sjtiegs@gmail.com or (636) 262-8735.